How there is Little Difference in Job Searching and Sales Prospecting


It has been four months since my last job. Quite frankly life is more of a crawl rather than a daily walk. The jobs keep coming in the dailies and out go my Cv and applications. I am no stranger to unemployment having quite my first job straight out of school in order to become an internet business man. 8 months after the fact I discovered the finer points about transacting online and some glaring omissions on my business plan. The devil is in the details as always. Still the courage of walking out of employment has never left me. It’s a resolute partner in times of impending doom and has been my sole cheer leader since.
Anyone who has been harbouring desires of going out on their own in business must know the loneliness that comes with striking out on your lonesome. I am fortunate to count on the support of family for even when in want they have always given me the basic minimum. Yet some have to strike it out on the strength of their resolve. There is nothing for free in this world and those who bargain with everything including an unflinching commitment often win the lofty of prizes.
Sales is a tough job for most and a key to freedom for others. I recall in my last posting as a salesman having to tolerate the constant whining of my colleagues on the dismal pittance of a wage that out employer was offering. It is never okay to complain for we are supposed to change those things that we can and accept those that we cannot. That is life. Complaining does nothing for us but drain our positive energy.
It was a positive attitude that lead me to my first sale. I would have gone on to do better had I realised that there are somethings you don’t compromise on. And these are the pillars of your identity. Yet the resilience stays with me and guides me along my path to achieve my goals. Much like it did on those days when at 3 p.m. dressed in a black suit I was walking on towards my last sales call as the heat beat down on me in H. Sales is truly only for some of us.
Even now deep into my job search I find solace in the steely determination I built when I rose to speak to my boss for the last time. I have learnt enough to know that the first job was in fact a goldmine. I could have achieved  a significant number of my goals had I stayed on. Yet there are some lessons that are best experienced rather than taught. It took a period of 28 months for me to learn just two things:

Resilience and a cautious optimism should inform every job search and sales call

 

 

Yet there are some lessons that are best experienced rather than taught. It took a period of 28 months for me to learn just two things:

1. When you believe there is something better coming alone, there really is
2. Once you sort out your values towards money in life you will right almost every other aspect of your life
Sitting now writing this after having been turned down from another job makes me really see what it takes to achieve my goals and desires. They say hindsight is always 20/20. They did not lie.